Life Size Remote Controlled Dalek Available (with space for kegerator inside)

Hi Folks - Story Time

First let me start by saying that i am not a Doctor Who fan at all. I watched it a bit as a kid growing up in Australia, so that's how i became aware of the Daleks.

Back in 2014 i was working for a software developer (in their IT dept) and on the side was (am) an avid maker of anything, wood, metal, welded, CNC'd, 3d printed and used microcontrollers (Arduino/Raspbery Pi).

At this company, we had a once-a-month event called "Firsty Thirsty Thursdays". What this entailed was the facility manager manually pushing 2 kegs of beer + snacks around on 2 carts to each persons desk (a 400 person company) on the first Thursday of each month. After watching him do this a bunch of times, I and some other folks who worked there tossed the idea around of building a robot that could be remote controlled to do that job for the facilities manager.

After a lot of back and forth, we convinced the company to actually sponsored the idea and they provided a very small budget to get the job done. With this, i recruited several other like minded folks within the company, and together we got to work on designing and building that robot.

We new we needed something to fit a kegerator (which held 3x 6th barrel kegs) and it had to fit through standard width doorways. We also wanted something that was recognizable. After a lot of research and drawing inspiration from another keg robot someone else made at a different company (in the shape of R2D2) we landed on building a Remote controlled Dalek looking robot around a kegerator.